Crispy, Baked Chicken Wings

DSC_0011 (2)My Boyfriend LOVES wings. Now when I say he loves them, he really takes it to a whole different level. He gets pretty excited when he talks about food he loves and wings are no expection. So one day he challenged me to making wings. I had never done it before, so of course I turned to the internet and googled several recipes. This is my compilation of the recipes I liked. I will give a warning, I do like spicy wings, so feel free to adjust the spice level according to your preferences!

DSC_0005

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (I have also used almond and rice flour for gluten-free)
  • 2 tablespoons of chili powder
  • 2 teaspoon paprika
  • 2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 teaspoons red chili flakes
  • 10 chicken wings (drumettes work too)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup Frank’s hot sauce
  • 3 tablespoons of white vinegar

Instructions

  1. In a zip-lock bag, mix together the flour, chili powder, paprika, cayenne, and chili flakes. Add chicken wings and shake bag until wings are well coated. Refrigerate for at least an hour.
  2. Combine the butter, Worcestershire, hot sauce, and vinegar in a small saucepan over low heat. Stir together and heat until butter is melted and mixture is well blended.
  3. Put wings in a large bowl and slowly pour the butter mixture over it. Use a large spoon or hands to mix and ensure all areas are well covered with sauce.
  4. Preheat oven to 350°C. Cover a large baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with oil. Place wings on baking sheet and then on a middle rack in oven. Bake for 35-45 minutes or until wings are cooked. Turn over wings half way through cooking. Once cooked, turn on the broiler and broil for 10 minutes. Turn over the wings after 5 minutes. Now your wings should be crispy and golden brown.
  5. Take wings out and cool for 5 minutes, then serve. Don’t forget to have plenty of napkins on hand!

Leave a comment