Soba Noodles with Sausage, Eggplant and Mushrooms

DSC_0030

Soba noodles are my new favorite thing. I love pasta, while I am eating it, however about an hour after eating it, I immediately regret it. I get this thud feeling in my stomach after, so for the most part I try to avoid it. However, I came across these noodles in the grocery store several months ago. They are great  for several reasons. 1) They cook fast in 3-5 minutes, can’t complain about that! 2) They have more of a nutty flavor, which adds a lot more to the dish than regular pasta noodles 3) They are much better for you than pasta, due to them being made of buckwheat flour, which is a seed not a grain, and is a complete protein with antioxidants and essential B vitamins thiamine, riboflavin, and choline. I have used these noodles in my thai noodle salad, lettuce wraps and cold “pasta” salads.

So I have been trying to branch out lately and cook with some ingredients that I don’t usually cook with. I found myself looking at the same grocery list each week: carrots, celery, asparagus, spinach, bananas, apples, greek yogurt, cherry tomatoes and mushrooms. I made a variety of dishes with these ingredients, but I realized I was missing out on some fun ingredients! I made a goal to cook with one new ingredient every week. This week is acorn squash, but last week was eggplant. I have always been intrigued by the appearance of eggplant. I feel like it is such a unique vegetable. I like the sleek, deep purple skin and how its name seems to have no connection to the vegetable itself.

DSC_0041

Anyways, this is a recipe I tweaked from a few eggplant recipes I found online. I hope you enjoy it! One thing I would add is some spinach or kale. I think the green would bring some color to the dish and add some healthy goodness!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Eggplant, diced into 1 inch cubes
  • 2 cups Crimini Mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 Red Onion, minced
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • 3 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 package of Soba noodles
  • 4 Italian sausages

Directions:

In a  pan, heat the olive oil. Add the eggplant and mushrooms and cook, stirring frequently. Cook until the eggplant is soft and the mushrooms are fully wilted, about 10 minutes.

In a separate pan, start cooking up the sausages. Once they are close to being fully cooked through, slice them up and turn up the heat. I like to crisp mine up until they are almost burnt, but brown them to your liking.

Make the dressing by whisking together the onion, garlic, vinegar, mustard and olive oil. Set aside.

Cook the noodles in boiling water, according to directions. Drain, then toss in the sautéed vegetables, sausage and dressing. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

