Homemade Dark Chocolate Hearts

DSC_0022 (2)

I must preface this post with a brief synopsis of why I have not posted since March. The last five months have most definitely been the busiest months of my life! Since my last post, I have applied, been accepted and begun graduate school, I have travelled to California twice and have visited New York City, I have gotten engaged and married to the love of my life and I have moved to Seattle, Washington to begin my new life! To say the least, posting on this blog has fallen down my list of priorities, but I now feel my life is back at a reasonable pace and I am able to begin sharing my love for good food!

This is a recipe I made back at Easter for family, as I love chocolate, but I cannot justify eating the fake, overly sweet, Easter chocolates in the store. (Yes, I did continue to take photos of food these past five months, I just never got around to posting about it!) I love this recipe simply because it is so SIMPLE! My sister-in-law gave me the initial recipe and I have begun experimenting with it since then. These chocolates were hit, even my Dad who has a major sweet tooth, thought they were a much better alternative to the chocolates in the store! SCORE!

For this recipe I tried out agave syrup, which is a healthier sweetener, as it does not spike your glucose level as much as other sweeteners. One note to remember when substituting it in your recipes, it is much more concentrated than other sugars, so only use 1/3 as much as the recipe asks for of other sugars.

You can buy the heart molds for a couple dollars at any Michaels’ store they have other fun shapes as well, such as flowers, mustaches, etc. Now go get creative and make your own healthy, homemade chocolates for your family!

DSC_0021 (2)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup raw cocoa powder

Optional:

  • almonds, cashews, pecans
  • peanut, almond or sunflower seed butter
  • Trader Joe’s “Cookie Butter”

Directions:

  1. Melt the coconut oil, agave nectar and vanilla in a pot on the stove on low. As the ingredients melt, make sure to continue to stir it, so it does not burn. Once melted add the cocoa powder and stir well so there are no clumps.
  2. Once combined, turn off heat and get out chocolate molds or mini cupcake paper foils. Place desired nuts/butters in mold and then cover with chocolate. Sometimes it is easer to spoon in a bit of chocolate first, throw it in the freezer for a few minutes so it hardens, then scoop out the butter and finally cover it with chocolate. Similar to peanut butter cups!
  3. Put in freezer for 10-15 minutes, until chocolate hardens, then pop them out and repeat until chocolate is all gone!
Leave a Reply

