White Bean, Bacon and Corn Chowder

DSC_0008

I have a confession to make: I am addicted to soups. I spend my days browsing various blogs in search of recipe ideas, I spend my evenings cooking and eating the recipes and I spend my nights dreaming about them! That may be an exaggeration, but we do have a wide assortment of frozen soups in our freezer right now. Currently we have spicy chicken noodle, tomato, beef stew, curry lentil, and now this corn chowder, all which I made in the last two weeks! I need to find a new obsession, I think I’m going to get back into knitting to help distract me.

Anyways, this recipe is my first attempt at corn chowder ever. I must say it was super easy and it is now one of my favorite bowls of comfort. It smells heavenly and with the sweet, fresh corn I got from the farmers market, there is nothing better! I added some extra veggies and the white beans to make it a bit heartier, since there is little nutritional value in just the corn. Many recipes had red peppers in them, but since I have a strong dislike for peppers, I didn’t add them. You can definitely play around with the recipe and add whatever you have on hand. I think I might try adding cauliflower to it next time to add some more veggies. I hope you enjoy it, whatever modifications you make!

DSC_0004

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 3 carrots, sliced
  • 8 pieces of thick bacon
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 6 ears of corn
  • 6 red potatoes
  • 3 cups chicken stock (or vegetable)
  • 1 tbl salt
  • 1 tbl black pepper
  • 1 tbl paprika
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 1/4 cup of corn meal
  • 1 can of white beans

Directions:

1) In a large pot, boil the ears of corn for 8 minutes and then cut the corn off the cobs and set aside.
2) In a large soup pot, melt the butter and then add the diced onions and garlic. Saute for several minutes until they begin to soften, then add the chopped celery, carrots and bacon.
3) Saute for another 6-8 minutes, then add the potatoes, corn, stock, salt, pepper, paprika and thyme.
4) Cook for 15 minutes until the potatoes become fork tender, stirring occasionally.
5) Transfer 3 cups of the soup into a blender and add the corn meal and half and half. Blend the mixture until smooth. If you desire a chunkier chowder, blend less, if you want a smoother chowder, blend more. Return blended mixture to pot.
6) Add the can of white beans and cook for another 10 minutes and serve. Hint: the longer the chowder sits, the more the flavors blend into a delicious bowl!

One thought on “White Bean, Bacon and Corn Chowder

Leave a Reply

