Apple Pie Overnight Oats

DSC_0004

I realize I may be a bit late jumping on the “overnight oats” bandwagon, but I have been obsessed lately! It all came about as a result of my New Year’s resolution: working out five times a week, with two workouts at 6:30am before class. Prior to the New Year, I was not making time for working out during the week, which left me only working out Friday-Sunday. Since then I’ve stuck to my goal (yippee!) and as a result I have a new breakfast favorite the two mornings when I work out. My typical breakfast is a green smoothie, and when I say typical I mean I have this EVERY single morning and when I miss it for some life-altering reason, I go through withdrawals. I love these things so much I think I could have a meltdown if my Vitamix broke and I was left without these for breakfast.

However, after returning from my workouts in a morning and downing a green smoothie, I felt I wasn’t giving my body enough carbs to help my body recover and refuel. In steps the overnight oats. I started whipping these up the night before I’d workout so that I could refuel my body as soon as I got home, along with my smoothie. I must say these oats will never replace my smoothie, but many mornings when I walk back from the gym, I can’t decide if I’m more excited to eat the oats or have my smoothie. For those who know my obsession with smoothies know that is high praise!

I love how simple the oats are to make and with the apples, brown sugar and cinnamon, it’s a match made in food heaven. The gooeyness of the cold oats is a nice alternative to the warm bowls of oatmeal I grew up on. Don’t get me wrong, I love a lava hot bowl of oatmeal, but right after working out I’m usually looking for something colder to help cool my body down. Therefore, I invite you to try this recipe tonight! It’ll take you three minutes to whip up and in the morning you will be very pleased you did. There are endless combinations you can make as well. I’ve been stuck on this combination for awhile, but I hope to branch out and try some new combinations soon!

DSC_0007

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup of water
  • 1/3 cup of greek yogurt
  • 3 tbsp of ground flax seed
  • handful of chopped pecans (or any other kind of nut)
  • 1/2 an apple, chopped
  • 2 tbsp of maple syrup
  • dash of cinnamon
  • sprinkle of brown sugar

Directions:

  1. In a sealable container, layer the ingredients in the order listed. (I typically leave the sprinkling of brown sugar until the morning though)
  2. Do not stir! Refrigerate overnight.
  3. Mix up your bowl of delightfulness in the morning and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

