Crispy Collard Green Chips

DSC_0001

My masters program has ramped up in the past few months and I have been inundated with project after project. However, there is a light at the end of the tunnel which happens to be in two days! On Friday, it will be the end of my second quarter, which marks the halfway point of my program. Starting on Monday, I will be full-time teaching in an incredible third/fourth grade class and I am so excited to start spending everyday with these twenty-five fabulous students. Over the last few weeks, as the stress levels rise and my sleep tank drains, I have found myself craving more comfort foods. I have probably mentioned before, but my weakness is salty things that go “crunch”! I love chips, popcorn and nuts and if you ask Bryce he will tell you I have an odd fascination with popcorn. I love heating up the oil in a pot, adding the kernels and watching them pop through the glass lid. Sometimes I think about the first person who ever made popcorn. I can imagine sitting by a hot fire, throwing seeds into it and then all of a sudden out pops these golden nuggets! I can only imagine the look of surprise and fascination as they hesitantly tried this tasty treat.

 

DSC_0007

Anyways, in an effort to feed my emotional eating cravings, I decided to try and make a healthier treat to snack on while typing out page after page of assignments. I had some collard greens leftover in the fridge and I thought it would be interesting to try baking them, similar to kale chips. I tore off pieces of the leaves and tossed them in coconut oil along with a dash (I promise it was just a dash) of salt and pepper. When they began to get crispy and delicious, I took them out of the oven and hesitantly tried a crunchy leaf. I was stunned at the deliciousness of the chip and I began shoveling more into my mouth, immediately regretting that I hadn’t made a bigger batch. At this point, Bryce realized he was missing out and began frantically throwing chips into his mouth. Once we cleared the baking sheet in a matter of minutes, he looked at me and said, “Well, I guess you have to make more so you can put pictures on your blog!”

Ingredients:

  • bunch of collard greens
  • 1-2 tbsp of coconut oil
  • dash of salt and pepper (or any kind of seasoning!)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  2. Tear off the leaves of the collard greens. Try avoid using the stem, since it contains more water and doesn’t get crispy like the leaves do when baked. I saved the stems for my smoothie the next morning. Didn’t want it going to waste!
  3. Melt the coconut oil, either on the stove or microwave.
  4. Toss the greens in the coconut oil and spread out over the baking sheet. Try to keep it in a single layer so they bake evenly. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  5. Bake for 25-30 minutes, stirring several times to avoid the edge pieces from burning.
  6. They are best when fresh from the oven, but they can be sealed in a bag and enjoyed days later!
Leave a Reply

