Cacao Chia Power Balls

DSC_0013

2014 has come and gone and like many of you, this past week I paused to reflect on the past year and to plan what I want to accomplish for 2015. The past year brought a lot of change for me, finishing graduate school, moving from Seattle to Squamish, starting a new job, and having my husband only home for weekends while he is at school during the week. There has been a lot to celebrate and a lot of challenges to rise to. I am so thankful for the opportunities I have been given this past year and the amazing experiences I have learnt from. I am looking forward to the personal growth I know I will experience this upcoming year and I want to capitalize on all the opportunities I have available to me now.

Therefore, I made some resolutions this year that will help me focus on the areas I want to grow in. Bryce and I made some resolutions we want to work towards together, including each of us planning a date night once a month, working out together twice a week, Skyping with family once a week and cutting down our sugar intake. Personally I am focusing on meditating everyday for 10 minutes, completing an art project every month, taking photos once a week, working out four times a week and listening to others before making assumptions.

DSC_0012

Another change for 2015 is that Bryce and I are now both cutting out dairy, gluten and eggs out of our diet. I started on this path at the end of November and thankfully Bryce is doing the same now, since it really helps to not have any tempting foods in the house! It’s amazing how much better I feel already and it’s only been a month. My energy level is higher throughout the day, without feeling an afternoon slump, plus I don’t have strong urges to snack between meals. I have been focusing on eating more protein and healthy fats, along with incorporating more vegetables into all my meals.

This recipe I created for two reasons, I wanted something quick I could grab before my early morning workouts to help fuel my body and Bryce can’t eat almonds anymore which is an ingredient in almost every granola bar. Therefore, I wanted to make something that he could eat on the go as well. These power balls are so simple and quick to make, plus you can add pretty much anything you like to them! They are also beyond delicious and I couldn’t stop picking at them after I made them! I hope you enjoy 🙂

DSC_0019

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup peanut or almond butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup raw cacao powder
  • 1 cup gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1/4 chia seeds
  • 1/4 unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tbsp ground flax

Directions:

  1. In a small saucepan, heat the peanut butter, honey, vanilla and coconut oil and mix together. Once mixed, add the raw cacao powder. If consistency is too thick, add a tablespoon or two of water.
  2. Measure out the rolled oats, chia seeds, shredded coconut, pumpkin seeds and ground flax and combine in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add the mixture from the saucepan into the mixing bowl and mix throughly using your hands.
  4. Place mixture in fridge for 10 min before rolling the mixture into tiny balls.
  5. Keep in refrigerator until they are all eaten!
Leave a Reply

