Coconut Cashew Macadamia Butter

DSC_0014

I’m sure you have had those days when you are trying to eat healthy, but nothing you eat satisfies the craving you have for something sweet, something creamy, something fatty. The last few months since cutting out gluten and dairy and reducing sugar from our diets most days I feel great. I rarely have cravings for things I can’t have. However, every now and then I get these cravings that result in me digging through my fridge and pantry looking for something to satisfy the cravings.

DSC_0008

However, I have found one thing that completely satisfies these cravings which also doesn’t break any rules! This coconut cashew macadamia butter is everything I’m looking for – a little sweet, a little fatty, a little creamy! My sister-in-law made a similar butter for me for Christmas and I’ve made several batches with my own twist since.  I’ll spread it on toast, eat it with apples, mix it into my oatmeal, or eat it off a spoon!

DSC_0007

Nut butters are so easy to make and there are endless possibilities of combinations. It’s a healthy snack or a great addition to a meal if you need some additional protein. Both these nuts contain healthy monounsaturated fats and have high levels of magnesium, zinc, and selenium. The additional fiber is also a bonus!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cashews
  • 1 cup macadamia nuts
  • 2 tbs hemp hearts
  • 2 tbs coconut manna
  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 tbs vanilla
  • 1 tbs maple syrup

Directions:

  1. Add the cashews, macadamia nuts and hemp hearts into a food processor or blender and blend until finely ground. I like mine to have a bit of crunch so I don’t blend completely.
  2. Add the coconut manna, coconut oil, maple syrup and vanilla and blend until completely mixed in.
  3. Spread on toast, fruit or mix into oatmeal to enjoy! Keep refrigerated.
Leave a Reply

